Humboldt county surgeon named CMA president-elect

October 12, 2013
Area(s) of Interest: Physician Leadership Professional Development & Education 

The California Medical Association House of Delegates has named Luther Cobb, M.D., as the association’s next president-elect. He will take office at the close of this year’s meeting on Sunday.

Currently serving as the speaker of the CMA House, Dr. Cobb is a board-certified, self-employed physician practicing in general, thoracic and vascular surgery in Arcata and Eureka.

In addition to his involvement in organized medicine, Dr. Cobb serves as chief of staff of the Mad River Community Hospital in Arcata, where he has been an active member of the medical staff since 1997. He had also previously served as the hospital’s chief of staff from 2000 to 2002 and Vice-Chief of Staff from 2009 to 2011. Dr. Cobb is also on the medical staff of St. Joseph Hospital, in Eureka.

Previously, Dr. Cobb served as attending surgeon, director of trauma services and director of the vascular surgery clinic at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, in San Jose, as well as clinical associate professor of surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine and the chairman of the surgery department at Mad River Community Hospital.

He also served as president of the Humboldt-Del Norte County Medical Society from 2004 to 2006.

A graduate of the Stanford University School of Medicine, Dr. Cobb is a current member of the school’s alumni association, as well as the American Society of Breast Disease, the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract, the Sigma XI Scientific Research Society and the Pacific Coast Surgical Association.

Dr. Cobb will serve as president elect for one year, and will be installed as president following next year’s House of Delegates.

Filling Dr. Cobb’s vacated position of speaker of the House is current vice speaker Theodore M. Mazer, M.D. Lee Snook, M.D., was also elected to serve as vice-speaker.

Also serving with Dr. Cobb on CMA’s 2013-2014 Executive Committee are:

  • President Richard E. Thorp, M.D.

  • Immediate Past President Paul R. Phinney, M.D.

  • Speaker of the House Theodore M. Mazer, M.D.

  • Vice Speaker of the House Lee Snook, M.D.

  • Chair of the Board of Trustees, Steven E. Larson, M.D.

  • Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, David H. Aizuss, M.D.


Was this article helpful?    

COVID-19 Resources

Resources for physicians and health care providers on the latest news, research and developments.

Stay Informed

Opt in to receive updates on the latest health care news, legislation, and more.

Latest News

Load More