Deadline extended to nominate an outstanding colleague for 2018 CMA service awards

June 04, 2018
Area(s) of Interest: Physician Leadership Professional Development & Education 

Every year, the California Medical Association (CMA) honors inspirational physician members during its House of Delegates. The deadline for nominations has been extended to Monday, June 11.

CMA is now accepting nominations for the following awards:


Compassionate Service Award
This award honors a CMA member physician who best illustrates the association’s commitment to community and charity care. Eligible for nomination are physicians or physician organizations that have demonstrated a history of providing charity or donated care to communities within the state of California.


Frederick K.M. Plessner Memorial Award
This award honors a California physician who best exemplifies the practice and ethics of a rural practitioner, with particular emphasis on charity care. Eligible for nomination are physicians currently in active practice or retired from active practice for a period of no longer than three years.  


Dev A. GnanaDev Membership Award
This award demonstrates a special or unique effort toward membership recruitment resulting in membership growth in their area during the past year.


Gary Nye, M.D., Award
This award honors significant contributions toward improving physician health and wellness.


Nominations must be sent by Monday, June 11, to nominations@cmadocs.org. For more information and nomination packets, click on the links above.


Contact: Manjot (M.J.) Cheema, (916) 551-2565 or mcheema@cmadocs.org.


Join CMA Today!

Explore why over 43,000 California physicians have joined CMA to advocate for patients, the medical profession and the future of health care.

Was this page helpful?