CMA advocacy drastically reduced administrative burdens for Parkinson’s registry

August 07, 2018
Area(s) of Interest: Advocacy 

Effective July 1, 2018, M.D.s, D.O.s, P.A.s and N.P.s who diagnose or treat Parkinson’s disease patients ("Reporting Providers") are required to report cases of Parkinson’s disease to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) after first registering at https://hie.cdph.ca.gov. The California Parkinson’s Disease Registry collects data to measure the incidence and prevalence of Parkinson’s throughout California, providing more understanding to improve the lives of patients.

The California Medical Association (CMA) and other stakeholders worked closely with CDPH to reduce the administrative burden these reporting requirements pose on health care professionals, and CMA’s advocacy efforts are reflected in the third version of the Implementation Guide.

The latest update dramatically narrows the breadth of data elements that providers must report to the Registry – from 62 data fields to 14 required and three optional fields. Physicians are also no longer required to report information about a Parkinson’s patient’s next of kin, symptomology, medications, surgeries, secondary diagnoses or patient visit information.

CDPH issued an initial guide in April 2018 explaining the reporting mandate, including who is required to report, reporting timelines and methods to transmit data to the registry. Since the issuance, CMA expressed concerns to CDPH about the scope, breadth and timing of the new reporting obligation. CDPH had previously revised the guide to address several of these concerns, including limiting the number of reportable ICD-10 codes to only include patient encounters for diagnosis or treatment of Parkinson’s Disease or Parkinsonism occurring on or after July 1, 2018.

CDPH also extended the reporting compliance date for cases encountered during the first quarter the law is in effect (July 1 to September 30, 2018) from 90 days to 180 days; however, as of October 1, 2018, all cases must be reported within 90 days. Manual entry will remain an option for all providers.

Reporting providers and entities are encouraged to review the Implementation Guide carefully to determine which rules apply, as well as to explore CDPH’s fact sheet for more information.


Was this article helpful?    
Download the New CMADocs app!

Download the new CMADocs app!

CMA's new mobile app lets you connect with your colleagues and engage with CMA content!  Download the "CMADocs" app today from the Apple or Google Play app stores for daily news updates, events calendar, resource library and more.

Latest News

Load More